Contact Us: 1-800-372-6094
Media Contact: Heidi Press, Public Relations Specialist St. Joseph Mercy Oakland 44405 Woodward Avenue Pontiac, MI 48341 248-858-6662

SJMO Named Blue Distinction Center+
Start Date

St. Joseph Mercy Oakland Named Blue Distinction Center+

For Quality In Knee And Hip Replacement And Spine Surgery


Designation from Blue Cross and Blue Shield Association Names Hospital

for Quality and Cost-Effective Care

Pontiac, Mich .—St. Joseph Mercy Oakland (SJMO), a member of the Saint Joseph Mercy Health System, has earned Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Michigan's (BCBS) Blue Distinction Center + designation for quality in the areas of knee and hip replacement and spine surgery.

The Blue Distinction Centers for Specialty Care® recognizes health care centers for their expertise and cost efficiency in delivering specialty care. Only those facilities that first meet Blue Distinction's nationally established, objective quality measures are considered for designation as Blue Distinction Centers+.

“We are pleased to be designated as a Blue Distinction Center+ for providing quality of care and patient safety in the areas of knee and hip replacement and spine surgery,” said Jack Weiner, SJMO President and CEO. “This distinction, along with other awards and honors for orthopedic excellence, quality and safety, further recognizes that we are a high-performing hospital and a leader in these areas.”

According to BCBS, research confirms that Blue Distinction Centers+ demonstrate better quality and improved outcomes for patients, with lower rates of complications and readmissions than their peers. Blue Distinction Centers+ also are more than 20 percent more cost-efficient. The program provides consumers with tools to help them make better informed health care decisions. These results also will enable employers, working with their local Blue Plans, to tailor benefits to meet their individual quality and cost objectives.

Other Saint Joseph Mercy Health System hospitals who have earned Blue Distinction Center or Blue Distinction Center+ designations include:

•  Chelsea Community Hospital: Blue Distinction Center for Knee and Hip Replacement

•  St. Joseph Mercy Ann Arbor: Blue Distinction Center+ for Spine Surgery

•  St. Mary Mercy Livonia: Blue Distinction Center+ for Knee and Hip Replacement

SJMO is one of about 460 health facilities nationally to receive the Blue Distinction Center+ designation.